DRC Music: Kinshasa One Two auf Warp Records

DRC Music ist ein Projekt, zu dem Damon Albarn aufrief. Im Juli 2011 ist er mit einer Schar von Produzenten in die Demokratische Republik Kongo gereist, um binnen fünf Tagen ein Album mit zeitgenössischen lokalen Musikern aufzunehmen, darunter Jupiter & The Okwess International, Bokatola System und Nelly Liyemge. Das Resultat dieser Abeit, das Album “Kinshasa One Two” von DRC Music, erscheint in wenigen Wochen zu Gunsten von Oxfam auf Warp Records.

DRC Music sind folgende Produzenten: T-E-E-D (Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs), Dan The Automator, Jneiro Jarel, Richard Russell, Actress, Marc Antoine, Alwest, Remi Kabaka, Rodaidh McDonald und Kwes. Das Artwork gestalteten Aitor Throup und Hardy Blechman.

Die Demokratische Republik Kongo wird seit langer Zeit von Konflikten und humanitären Krisen erschüttert. Die Einnahmen aus diesem Release werden an die Musiker vor Ort sowie an Oxfam gehen.

“Every day in DRC (Democratic Republic of Congo) there are hundreds of thousands of people who need Oxfam’s support to access education, clean water, sanitation and basic hygiene. The situation here has been out of the media spotlight for too long. Not only will DRC Music shine a light on the incredible musical talent coming out of the country, it will raise much needed funds for Oxfam’s invaluable work here and focus the world’s attention on Congo once again, seeing it as a place of inspiration, creativity and hope.” – Pauline Ballaman (Oxfam’s DRC Country Director)

“We feel incredibly fortunate to be involved in the journey that culminated in Kinshasa One Two. It’s completely, brilliantly, unlike anything Warp has undertaken before, but nonetheless feels like a very natural endeavour for us to be a part of. We’re supremely grateful to all the artists, musicians and producers who joined together to create this amazing record and shared a vision of contributing in some small way to benefit the people of the DRC.” – Warp Records


Den Trailer zum Release findet ihr hier: www.youtube.com/watch?v=a2nZ4zOJ_Ig&feature=youtu.be

Soundcloud: soundcloud.com/drcmusic/sets/drc-music/


01. Hallo feat. Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge
02. K-Town feat. N’Gotshima and Bebson
03. African Space Anthem (A.S.A) feat. Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo
04. Love feat. Love
05. Lingala feat. Bokatola System and Evala Litongo
06. Lourds feat. Yende Bongongo of Okwess International
07. Respect Of The Rules feat. Loi X Liberal
08. We Come From The Forest feat. Bokatola System
09. Customs feat. Bokatola System
10. Virginia feat. Magakala Virginia Yollande and Yowa Hollande
11. Ah Congo feat. Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System
12. Three Piece Sweet part 1 &2 feat. Bebson
13. If You Wish to Stay Awake feat. Washiba
14. Departure feat. Bokatola System

Die Compilation DRC Music Kinshasa One Two” (Warp Records) erscheint am 04.11.2011.

Getaggt mit: , ,