Gallon Drunk – The Road Gets Darker From Here

Image: 1571187 Deluxe LP edition including also the CD and an MP3 download coupon!

Clouds Hill proudly presents: Gallon Drunk 'The Road Gets Darker From Here' - the new album!

THE QUOTE "Gallon Drunk? Cool as fuck." Nick Cave

Following the tragic illness and death of their bassist Simon Wring, acclaimed British band Gallon Drunk return as a three piece with the dynamic new album. Recorded at Clouds Hills Recordings in Hamburg during the summer of 2011, produced by Johann Scheerer (who also produced Robots In Disguise, Faust, a.o.), the band bring the considerable power of their renowned live performances to the new longplayer.

Featuring founder frontman and former Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds member James Johnston (vocals, organ, guitar, harmonica, piano, and bass), Terry Edwards (bass, saxophone and percussion) and Ian White (drums, percussion), the trio have refocused their utterly distinctive musical vision with a collection of impassioned songs, imbued with pure mania, despair and abandonment.

At the state of the art analogue recording studio, Scheerer recorded the band playing the songs live, direct to two-inch tape. This gave a warmth, richness and depth of sound to the recording. Coupled with the band members' own recent experiences, playing and recording with the likes of Tom Waits, Lydia Lunch’s Big Sexy Noise, Faust, Nick Cave, and The Tindersticks, this brought an open minded freshness to the sessions.

From the insistent, slide guitar driven 'A Thousand Years', through the exhilaratingly sleazy, deranged rock 'n' roll of 'You Made Me' (the first 7Inch single to be released from the album with exclusive B-side track 'Now's The Time - CAT# CH038), the menacing melancholia of 'Stuck In My Head' (featuring French singer Marion Andrau of Underground Railroad), to the desperate eruption of guitar fury of 'Hanging On', this is classic, unfettered Gallon Drunk.

Also including the fever dream boogie of 'The Big Breakdown', before the final haunting, enigmatic psychodrama 'The Perfect Dancer' - a miasma of hallucinatory guitars, Hammond organs and slinky voodoo drums - the seventh Gallon Drunk album is an utterly captivating experience!

Make no mistake - Gallon Drunk are back.

Tracklisting LP
Side A
1. You Made Me
2. Hanging On
3. A Thousand Years
4. Stuck In My Head
Side B
1. Killing Time
2. The Big Breakdown
3. I Just Can't Help But Stare
4. The Perfect Dancer

Tracklisting CD and also for MP3 coupon
1. You Made Me
2. Hanging On
3. A Thousand Years
4. Stuck In My Head
5. Killing Time
6. The Big Breakdown
7. I Just Can't Help But Stare
8. The Perfect Dancer Erhältlich ab 10.08.2012
Bitte installieren Sie eine aktuelle Version des Adobe Flash Player, um unsere Videos und Soundclips zu nutzen.
Getaggt mit: