Various – Right Now (Atlantic Club Soul)

Image: 1591549 The 2LP vinyl collector’s edition of Right Now: Atlantic Club Soul And Deep Cuts sees Lois Wilson (Mojo, Record Collector) select 32 of the most sought-after cuts from her 86-track 3CD compilation.

Following her highly successful explorations of the Motown and Chess catalogues, Lois Wilson (Mojo, Record Collector) turns her attention to the iconic Manhattan-based Atlantic Records. Founded in 1947 by Ahmet Ertegun and Herb Abramson, the key participants in the company’s rise to success included studio engineer Tom Dowd, consummate record man Jerry Wexler, Ahmet’s brother Nesuhi and the dynamic songwriting/production team of Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, and crucial early signings included Joe Turner, Ruth Brown, Ray Charles, Chuck Willis, Clyde McPhatter and LaVern Baker.

All those names are represented on Right Now, alongside other performers who recorded for Atlantic and its subsidiary Atco (founded in 1955) in the forties, fifties and early sixties, years which saw the evolution of rhythm & blues into soul. The diversity of Atlantic’s roster is represented by the presence of early Atlantic hit-makers Stick McGhee and Joe Morris, consummate soul singers Solomon Burke, Ben E. King, Bettye LaVette and Barbara Lewis, a pre-Motown Isley Brothers, New Orleans piano man Professor Longhair, saxophonists Willis “Gator” Jackson and King Curtis, blues guitar pioneer T-Bone Walker, Louisiana rock ’n’ roller Dale Hawkins, jazz singer Mel Torme, and the vocal group sound of the Clovers, the Coasters and the Falcons (then including Wilson Pickett and Mack Rice in their ranks). Some of these recordings were acknowledged successes from their initial release, others have acquired popularity among collectors and on the club scene over the intervening decades.

Right Now offers club-friendly and deep catalogue selections drawn from the wealth of rhythm & rock released on the hallowed label.

Sales Points
2LP vinyl collector’s edition featuring 32 of the most sought-after cuts from the 86-track 3CD set, drawing on 15 years of recordings for the iconic Atlantic label and its offshoot Atco.
Eclectic selection of club-friendly Atlantic rhythm & blues, soul, blues and rock & roll, including often-overlooked deep catalogue cuts
Compiled and annotated by Lois Wilson (Mojo, Record Collector) Comes with illustrated insert
Famous names include cover star Ray Charles, The Isley Brothers, Bettye LaVette, Solomon Burke, Joe Turner, LaVern Baker, Clyde McPhatter, Professor Longhair, Ruth Brown, The Coasters and T-Bone Walker

Track Listing:

Side 1

1. Daddy Rollin’ Stone (Jimmy Ricks and The Raves)
2. Your Old Lady (The Isley Brothers)
3. My Man - He’s A Lovin’ Man (Bettye LaVette)
4. Do The Hully Gully (Part 1) (King Coleman)
5. Down In The Valley (Solomon Burke)
6. Shuffle In The Gravel (Young Jessie)
7. Voodoo Voodoo (LaVern Baker)
8. Mardi Gras In New Orleans (Professor Longhair and His New Orleans Boys)

Side 2

1. Right Now (Mel Torme)
2. Some Other Guy (Richie Barrett)
3. Jam Up Twist (Tommy Ridgley)
4. My Beat Is 125th Street (Eunice Davis)
5. Talkin’ ’Bout You (Ray Charles)
6. Hearts Of Stone (The Top Notes)
7. Stupidity (The Van Dykes)
8. My Mama Told Me (Barbara Lewis)

Side 3

1. You’re The Boss (LaVern Baker and Jimmy Ricks)
2. Rockhouse (Ray Charles)
3. Sure ’Nuff (Ruth Brown)
4. Thirty Days (Clyde McPhatter)
5. T-Bone Blues Special (T-Bone Walker)
6. I’m A Hog For You (The Coasters)
7. Hey Little Girl (Roy “Bald Head” Byrd and His New Orleans Rhythm)
8. Daddy Daddy (Ruth Brown)

Side 4

1. Just One More Time (The Isley Brothers)
2. Tired Of Trying (Jean DuShon)
3. Mashed Potatoes (Part 1) (Carl Holmes and The Commanders)
4. Make Believe (Young Jessie)
5. Boogie Woogie Country Girl (Joe Turner)
6. Hey, Memphis (LaVern Baker)
7. 5-10-15 Hours (Ruth Brown)
8. T-Bone Shuffle (T-Bone Walker)

Erhältlich ab 12.09.2014

Getaggt mit: