Oozing Wound – Earth Suck

Image: 1592171 destruction is at a fever pitch. Oozing Wound finds humor in our ridiculous habits and, by magnifying our most destructive behavior to its extreme end, allows us to laugh at the idiocy and the horror of it all. This mindset is at the center of their second full-length Earth Suck, a collection of destructive thrash that is seemingly teetering at the edge of control and collapse. Zack Weil’s guitar is reckless, his palm-muted chugs coming at breakneck speed and pinch harmonics squealing like sonic bolts of electricity. Kyle Reynolds’ drumming is unrelenting, wild and unrestrained but executed with a level of jaw dropping precision. Kevin Cribbin’s manic, mammoth bass delivers wallop after wallop of fuzzed out low-end. Oozing Wound’s energetic and expansive variation on thrash thrives on antagonistic repetition and addictive riffage, avoiding pretense like a plague.
Oozing Wound revels in the absurdity of horrifying realities, playing up fear and desperation to reveal the underlying humor. On Earth Suck they offer increasingly extreme portraits of moral and societal decay seen through the eyes of those doing the perpetrating. On “Genuine Creeper” Weil embodies a fetus eating its twin: “Kill your neighbor or kill yourself – I creep tonight.” On “Hippie Speedball” he becomes an addict who can’t go to work without getting high: “I can’t wake up without my hippie speedball.”
Earth Suck was recorded in the relatively extended time period of three days in Chicago with long-time engineer Matt Russell, and features viola by Whitney Johnson (of Verma), as well as singing bowl manned by Reynolds, elements never heard on an Oozing Wound record. Live, the simplicity of Oozing Wound’s no-frills ethos is extremely potent, and their energy is electric. Cribbin’s head seems to detach from his body, Reynolds arms flail, and Weil’s guitar and vocal wails drive the crowd to a frenzy. It is a blast.

Oozing Wound is a thrash trio featuring veterans of Chicago’s underground scene. Earth Suck is the explosive follow-up to the band’s breakout debut Retrash, which earned them praise from the New York Times, Pitchfork, Decibel, and more
First 420 copies pressed on limited pink vinyl !
LP packaged with a printed inner sleeve and free download card. CD version presented in a four panel mini-LP style gatefold package
Oozing Wound were selected by Adult Swim to be a part of their exclusive Singles series alongside Sleep, Mastodon, Deafheaven, and Diarrhea Planet
Oozing Wound have played with High On Fire, The Body, Ash Borer, Wolf Eyes, Nazoranai, and Black Pus
The band will tour the Midwest and East Coast this fall. In the meantime they continue to play packed, sweaty basements in Chicago and, when they choose to go come up for air, sell out indie mainstays like the Empty Bottle
“some of the filthiest crossover thrash you’ve ever heard” - Decibel
“they’re really good at delivering songs with power, but remember, this is also a band with a sense of humor.” - Pitchfork
“a bulldozing piece of sleazy throat-bawling metal terror that would make those softies in Metallica and Slayer blush” - MTV Hive

01. Going Through the Motions
Til I Die
02. Bury Me With My Money
03. Genuine Creeper
04. Hippie Speedball
05. When the Walls Fell
06. Colonel’s Kernel
07. False Peak (Earth Suck) Erhältlich ab 17.10.2014
Bitte installieren Sie eine aktuelle Version des Adobe Flash Player, um unsere Videos und Soundclips zu nutzen.
Getaggt mit: