Korey Dane – Youngblood

Image: 1598922 After spending two years hitching on the road with nothing more than Waits, Dylan, Mitchell, The Beatles and the Stones to
keep him company, Korey Dane began recording with veteran musician and record label executive Tony Berg, producer for
the likes of Public Image Ltd, The Replacements and Aimee Mann. Recorded entirely in Berg’s home studio Zeitgeist, what
was to become Youngblood was never originally planned as an album. Instead, he whittled down dozens of songs written
over that period of hitching and back in LA. A wide instrumental palette and contributions from some of LA’s most soughtafter
session musicians chelped Dane’s ideas come to life.
A Los Angeles record at its heart, Youngblood nevertheless takes in the landscape of the whole of the USA and particular
facets of its history and culture – appropriate, given Dane’s mixed Anglo-American, Cherokee and Japanese ancestry. Lead
single and album opener ‘Jules Verne’, the first up-tempo song Dane wrote after being challenged by his mentor Tony Berg,
demonstrates his strength as a songwriter, while closer ‘The Lion & The Keeper’ pays lyrical homage to T.S. Eliot’s epic
poem ‘The Love Song Of J. Alfred Prufrock’. In the tradition of Dane’s heroes, Youngblood isn’t just an album of songs, it’s
a collection of stories, all filtered through one artist’s singular vision.

• For fans of: Ryan Adams, Bruce Springsteen, Whiskeytown, Wilco, MWard, Jeff Buckley
• Lead single 'Jules Verne' premiere on The Fader
• 'I love this' - Mary Anne Hobbs
• 'Mesmerizing' - Pigeons And Planes
• 'Absolutely stunning' - BBC 6Music
• Produced by Tony Berg (Public Image Limited, The Replacements, Aimee Mann)
• Mixed by Tchad Blake (The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys, Hanni El Khatib)
• Mastered by Bob Ludwig (Bruce Springsteen, Alabama Shakes, Neil Young, Damien Rice)
• Featuring Aaron Embry (Elliot Smith), Armand Hirsch (Loudon Wainwright III), Daniel Rhine (Joshua Radin), Greg Leisz (HAIM,
Willie Nelson), Patrick Warren (Bob Dylan, Lana del Rey), Marshall Vore (Ryan Adams), Chris Stills (Ryan Adams, The Jayhawks),
Z. Berg (Bright Eyes) Erhältlich ab 09.10.2015

Getaggt mit: