Dan Friel – Life

Image: 1599079 Dan Friel creates intense, colorful and intricate instrumentals that, for all their complexity, are melodic pop songs. Equally at home in the DIY scene and the contemporary art world, Friel has been at the forefront of a movement of musicians who create dance music with a clear affinity for the extremes of noise and metal, eschewing the traditional dance clubs and adhering to the ethics of the underground. On his sophomore Thrill Jockey album Life, Friel uses his surprisingly small arsenal of gear to distort and maneuver his beloved Yamaha Portasound into an expansive sound that is incredibly varied in tone and texture. This toy keyboard, his first instrument, is manipulated beyond recognition to create songs that are frenzied and epic. Life also has moments that are incredibly sweet, idyllic, and fragile - sentiments that make perfect sense coming from a new father whose instrument of choice is his childhood keyboard.
Life was written and recorded by Friel at his home studios in Brooklyn and was mixed by Jonathan Schenke (Parquet Courts, Liturgy). “Lullaby (for Wolf)” revolves around a dreamy melody Friel sang to his newborn son, and the inspiration for “Sleep Deprivation” should be well known to any new parent. “Lungs” and “Bender” share crushing bass lines that far exceed the range of most computer speakers, their punishing heaviness akin to a demolition scene from Godzilla or a bad turn in a video game. The deliciously addictive melody shared by “Life (Pt. 1)” and “Life (Pt. 2),” is carried by a noisy and churning beat that eventually swallows it entirely early in Life “(Pt. 2).” With his cover of Joanna Gruesome’s “Jamie (Luvver),” Friel betrays his punk roots in the beloved band Parts & Labor. All throughout Life, Friel exploits his intentionally simple set-up to ever surprising effect, using simple electronics to mirror the sounds of guitars, drums, and harmonicas. It is an irresistible and genrebending collection of underground anthems.

01. Lullaby (For Wolf)
02. Cirrus
03. Rattler
04. Lungs
05. Sleep Deprivation
06. Life (Pt. 1)
07. Jamie (Luvver)
08. Bender
09. Theme
10. Life (Pt. 2)

Life is Friel’s sophomore Thrill Jockey release following Total Folklore (Thrill 324, 2013)
Dan Friel was a founding member of New York group Parts & Labor and with his solo work has been at the forefront of New York’s fertile experimental dance & noise scene
CD version in 4 panel mini-LP style gatefold package.
LP version includes free download coupon.
Life was mixed by Jonathan Schenke (Parquet Courts, Liturgy)
Friel will embark on a full European tour with Lightning Bolt and headline shows in the US with many shows in New York City and Brooklyn

“punchy instrumentals instilled with the raw energy of punk” - Pitchfork
“full of technicolor chirp, sugar-rush whoosh, and a bucket of adrenaline” - Stereogum
“a merry onslaught” - New York Times
“It’s pretty much bottled raw power” - Tom Ravenscroft, BBC
“Fucking great” - Kurt Braunohler Erhältlich ab 16.10.2015
Bitte installieren Sie eine aktuelle Version des Adobe Flash Player, um unsere Videos und Soundclips zu nutzen.
Getaggt mit: