Pablo Gad – Trafalgar Square (180 gram)

Image: 1598605 Re-issue of the album from 1979 in its original cover as a heavy weight 180gram edition, re-mastered and with extensive liner notes! Produced, composed and arranged by Pablo Gad, recorded with the backing band Zion Steppers from the UK, the artwork was created by Wayne Massop. A release in the re-launch series of the classic UK reggae label Burning Sounds.

Side One
A1. Bloodsuckers
A2. Visions Of Pablo
A3. Trodding On Home
A4. Natty Loving
A5. Jailhouse Pressure
Side Two
B1. Trafalgar Square
B2. Tru I De A Jail
B3. What Makes A Natty Dread Cry
B4. Riddle I Dis
B5. Bloodsuckers Dub

Collector's Note: This album was also released with an alternative title of "Blood Suckers".

Artist Biography (AllMusic)

In 1977 Pablo Gad was introduced to Joe Sinclair by his benefactor Winston Fergus. Sinclair had set up the Klik label following his departure from Trojan Records with a view to releasing authentic Jamaican sounds. Both Fergus and Gad were British-based but were able to maintain an appeal within the roots market. Fergus was the lead singer of the Equators who provided the backing to Gad’s debut recordings. Surfacing on the Caribbean subsidiary, ‘International Dread’ and ‘Kunte Kinte’ enhanced his position as a top vocalist. In 1978 Gad emerged with the classic ‘Blood Suckers’, which surfaced through Clement Bushay’s Burning Sounds empire. From the opening bars this rhythm was destined to last, and was enhanced by Gad’s vocals, with his delivery reminiscent of Fred Locks. Further singles surfaced through Bushay, including ‘Natty Loving’, ‘Trafalgar Square’, ‘Throw Your Dreams’ and ‘Riddle I Dis’. The success of ‘Blood Suckers’ overshadowed his later output, which probably inspired the revival of the rhythm for ‘Hard Time’. The outcome was another smash hit that has become an anthem for revival DJs. 1980 was a prolific year when a successful run of hits encompassed ‘Guns Fever’, ‘Nursery Rhyme’, ‘Oh Jah’ and ‘Fly Away Home’. Pablo Gad continued to record in the 90s, including the self-penned ‘Johnny Reggae’ and the haunting ‘Lash On My Back’, the latter being featured on the Brixton-based Lion Roots compilation.
Erhältlich ab 23.10.2015
Bitte installieren Sie eine aktuelle Version des Adobe Flash Player, um unsere Videos und Soundclips zu nutzen.
Getaggt mit: