The Selecter – Daylight

Image: 1611212 The Selecter, the riotous skank machine who exploded out of Coventry in the game-changing, multi-cultural
2 Tone explosion of 1979 release their brand new album ‘Daylight’ on October 6th. Now reunited around the
nucleus of original members Pauline Black and Arthur ‘Gaps’ Hendrickson, The Selecter are firing on all
righteous cylinders in 2017 and ‘Daylight’ is their most urgent, politically engaged and purely uplifting
music since the days of ‘Too Much Pressure’ and ‘Celebrate The Bullet’.
Recorded in London against a strangely familiar backdrop of political foment, anger at austerity policies and
the sudden emergence of a revitalized left wing vying for Government, ‘Daylight’ looks at the modern world
with classic Selecter energy, wit and danceability.
‘Daylight’ is also a spectacular return for one of the first British female stars to really shake up gender and
racial stereotypes. Cropped and cool, Pauline was the girl who looked and moved like the sharpest rude boy.
She flipped the Tonic suit and porkpie hat into a feminist statement, making the famous 2 Tone label man,
flesh and female.
Many faces have moved through The Selecter’s line-up since their early days in Coventry. Now a mix of
musicians – “four white and four black, very 2-Tone” – work with Pauline, Arthur ‘Gaps’ Hendrickson and
producer-writer-arranger Neil Pyzer in a tight-knit family team.
The album features 10 brand new songs including new single and opening track ‘Frontline’ (straight onto the
6Music Playlist) which utilises a weapons-grade UK reggae rhythm to talk about the new place where
confrontation takes place – digital and social media. Title track ‘Daylight’ sings of the straightforward joys
and pains of everyday life, whilst ‘Pass The Power’ is a rallying cry for a newly politicised generation. Full
tracklisting goes like this:
Frontline / Remember Me / Daylight / The Big Badoof / Paved with Cold / Taking Back Control / Things
Fall Apart / Mayhem / 3 Reasons / Pass the Power
Heading off to the US in August to tour with Rancid & The Dropkick Murphys, The Selecter return to
Europe and the UK later in the year. They will launch ‘Daylight’ at the (now sold out) London Roundhouse
on October 6 with a special double-header with fellow 2 Tone veterans The Beat featuring Ranking Roger.
Fans can expect classics from “On My Radio” and ‘Missing Words” plus the new tracks too.

1. Frontline
2. Remember Me
3. Daylight
4. The Big Badoof
5. Paved with Cold
6. Taking Back Control
7. Things Fall Apart
8. Mayhem
9. 3 Reasons
10. Pass the Power Erhältlich ab 20.10.2017

Getaggt mit: