Yotto – Hyperfall (Gatefold 2LP)

Image: 1620945 Finnish DJ and producer Otto Yliperttula, aka Yotto, is a dance music star in the making. Championed by some of the genre’s most respected trailblazers and building an army of adoring fans, Yotto is primed to join the big leagues with the release of his highly anticipated debut album ‘Hyperfall’.
Yotto’s unique sound blends dark, brooding atmospheres with light, uplifting melodies – deftly hitting the sweet spot between melancholy and euphoria. Otto draws inspiration from his childhood favourites The Chemical Brothers and Röyksopp, along with more contemporary influences ranging from Eric Prydz and M83 to Jon Hopkins and XXX. Having debuted on Anjunadeep in early 2015 he quickly caught the ear of BBC Radio 1’s Pete Tong and Annie Mac, picking up no fewer than 5 ‘Essential New Tunes’ and 3 ‘Hottest Records In The World’, along with DJ support from the likes of Solomun, Jamie Jones, Patrice Baumel, Adriatique and Joris Voorn, who signed Yotto to his renowned Green label. The 13-track debut LP Hyperfall is the culmination of three years in the ascendency, and sees Yotto continue to carve his own exciting path.
The album’s first single ‘The One You Left Behind’ weaves trademark Yotto progression alongside a driving low-end groove, with the vocals of Iceland’s Vök building to a euphoric crescendo. The second track on the album, it pulls the listener in before further lifting the energy with recent club hit ‘Kantsu’.
The album takes an unexcpted turn at this point, moving from the punchy opening into the murky sci-fi world of ‘Nada C’, a downtempo track that was actually written by Yliperttula back in 2005, and has finally been unearthed now that the time is right. ‘Turn It Around’ layers Otto’s own vocals above mysterious pads, before making way for a classic arpeggiated melody, flowing into ‘Epilogue’, another introspective moment, this time featuring Otto’s brother CAPS on vocals. From here the album continues on its emotive journey through the muted euphoria of ‘Odd One Out’, to the rising tension of ‘Hear Me Out’ before the joyous release of ‘Walls’, a unadulterated burst of happiness to close out proceedings. The album marks another milestone for UK label Anjunadeep. Founded in 2005, the label is now approaching 400 releases, and is famed for unearthing the likes of Dusky, Lane 8, Cubicolor and Moon Boots. With over 100 million streams in recent years, and sold-out label festivals around the world, Anjunadeep continues to cement it’s place as one of electronic music’s leading labels, with Yotto leading the way.

1. Hyperfall
2. The One You Left Behind - Yotto feat. Vök
3. Kantsu
4. Nada C
5. Turn It Around
6. Epilogue - Yotto feat. CAPS
7. Outsight
8. Odd One Out
9. Hyperlude
10. Radiate
11. Hear Me Out - Yotto feat. Sønin & Laudic
12. Walls
13. Waiting Here Erhältlich ab 14.09.2018
Getaggt mit: