Chorus Grant – Vernacular Music (LP + MP3)

16. September 2019

Vernacular Music combines folk-rock with elements from chamber music creating a new and exciting nordic sound.

The classical guitar is the main element on Vernacular Music and it is complemented and accompanied by bass, drums, rhodes and electric guitars as well as new elements in Chorus Grant's universe such as recorder, saw, vibraphone, violin, clarinet, cello and baritone saxophone. In the middle of the sonic universe, Kristian Finne’s vocal serves as a guide into Chorus Grant’s intimate world with its peculiar blend of being singable and catchy on one side and also being challenging and experimental another level.

The album is guest by a group of prominent musicians, including the English drummer Sebastian Rochford (Polar Bear, Patti Smith, David Byrne / Brian Eno among others), Danish CTM (Cæcilie Trier) and violinist Nils Gröndahl among others. The music is recorded in Copenhagen with the band members Camilla Munck and Moogie Johnson and is produced in collaboration with Mads Brinch and Nis Bysted (who was recently awarded as Producer of the Year at the Danish critic’s award Steppeulven).

Key Marketing Information
> Support for lead singles from GoldFlakePaint, Clash Music, Amazing Radio etc.
?> Past releases supported by international tastemakers like Rolling Stone (DE), NME, Stereogum, BBC 6 Music, and ByteFM among others.
?> Signed to the Copenhagen-based label Tambourhinoceros (Palace Winter, Efterklang, The Entrepreneurs etc.)

For fans of Cass McCombs, Little Wings, Ryley Walker, Cancer, Alex G,, M. Ward, Gregory Alan Isakov, David Sylvian, Chico Buarque, and C.O.B (Clive’s Original Band).

Selected press
“a striking reminder of the beautifully ambiguous nature of Chorus Grant’s work” - GoldFlakePaint
“an extremely organic approach that results in some genuinely gorgeous songwriting.” - Clash Magazine
“an overarching pop-hinted single that is as melancholic and brooding as they come” - ComeHereFloyd

A1. Hibernation Drill
A2. Lives
A3. Chamber One
A4. Give It A Name
A5. Changing Forever
A6. Words Like Soon
A7. No Word For The World

B1. Ballad Of The Wandering Eye
B2. Grass Snake
B3. Ship On The Wall
B4. Eudaimonia
B5. Chamber Two
Erscheint am 27.09.2019