Sequoyah Murray – Before You Begin (LP+MP3)

16. September 2019

At just 22 years old, Sequoyah Murray is crafting the kind of concise, singular musical statements that many artists strive for their whole careers. His mutant brand of modern soul is as deeply eclectic as it is instantly arresting, a quality that drew early comparisons to Arthur Russell. Like Russell, Murray has a boundless, playful approach to composition; an incredible breadth of vision balanced by concise editing. Futuristic electronics, West and North African influenced polyrhythms, gospel vocals and psychedelic Tropicália textures blend seamlessly, anchored by his astounding three-octave baritone. Before You Begin distills an enormous wealth of ideas, emotion and detail into a stunning debut. Murray’s joyful energy is infectious on his bravely intimate self-portrait, painted with an inventive and unexpected collection of sounds. The album is influenced by Murray’s experience growing up in one of the world’s music capitals. Atlanta’s hip-hop and trap heritage finds its place in his inventive lyricism, future-seeking sonics and DIY approach to music-making. Although Murray points to rap as one influence, he cites Atlanta’s lesser-known jazz and free-improv scene as facilitating his development as an artist.

Penalties of Love, Sequoyah’s debut EP was released in May 2019
“Penalties of Love” single has amassed over 25K streams so far.
Sequoyah has a full US tour later this fall.
The Boiler Room premiered the stunning video for “Penalties of Love” via their 4:3 platform.
Mixed by James Ginzburg of Emptyset, a prolific producer and remixer with his projects Faint Wild Light, Ginz , and Bleed Turquoise (collaborations with Joker, remixes for Zero 7, Basement Jaxx, SUMAC, & more)
“a striking set of visionary soul/pop that recalls contemporaries such as MorMor and Sampha, yet his magnetic baritone voice and unpredictable productions also find strong inspiration in the outsider pop works of Arthur Russell.” - KEXP
“[“Sublime”] is the rare song that fits as well on your summer BBQ playlist, as it does on a rainy-dayheadphones kind of mix. His emotive baritone hovers above warm analog synths, milking every oscillator for every Htz of emotion. - Afropunk

LP pressed on virgin vinyl with an artworked inner sleeve and free download card.

1. Here We Go
2. I Wonder
3. Sublime
4. Blue Jays
5. Sunflower (I Love You More)
6. Let’s Take the Time
7. Penalties of Love
8. Is Enough
9. Before You Begin
Erscheint am 13.09.2019